I can tell you truthfully that up until very recently I had absolutely no clue as to what a gluten free diet was. I didn’t have even a grain of an idea that I could base my knowledge upon. I have since found out however, that gluten is what you would call the protein part of certain grains like wheat, barley, rye or other similar grains. Some people are found to be allergic to the gluten in these grains and so need to have a gluten free diet.
Unfortunately that’s not as easy as it sounds. And since a person who suffers from gluten intolerance or celiac disease has to live their whole lives on a gluten free diet to be able to live normal healthy lives, they will need to consult with a doctor or nutritionist first. If they don’t get the diet that’s right for them, they could be facing many problems.
If you suffer from either of these gluten allergies don’t worry overly much however as there is hope. A diet that can suit your special needs can be formulated and you can live a good life. All you need to remember is to stay away from wheat based products. Again that might not be so easy to do, but with help you can find the right gluten free diet for you.
If you like oats, then you’ll be glad to hear that you don’t need to eliminate oats or oat products from your diet. If they’ve been processed free of the contaminating effects of wheat or such other grains, then you should be okay. But you will have to make sure that this is the case otherwise you will be inadvertently admitting some gluten into your system.
Foods that you could eat on your gluten free diet can include corn, soya, rice, and tapioca. You also have the choice of jams, and marmalades, sugar, honey, treacle and molasses as well. If that’s not enough your gluten free diet can include all fresh fruits and vegetables, along with eggs, milk, creams, butters and cheese. If you want still more then you can also have tea and coffee, fizzy drinks and most alcoholic drinks as well.
Although it might not be that easy to stay on your gluten free diet if you start buying ready prepared foods, as these might contain products with gluten in them. And if not actual gluten based products they might have been processed somewhere close to where there are gluten based products.
So really if you just stick to the fresh side of your food, and stay away from canned or ready made goods, then you should be okay with your gluten free product. Along with this however, you should also stay away from anything that has wheat or suchlike in it as this can entirely destroy your gluten free diet. With a little bit of careful planning you should be alright, and your diet should stay intact.