The Glossary of Golf Terms in Match Play

As we know, Match play is one of the main forms of competition in golf. It pits players one against another, rather than one against the field as in stroke play. Opponents compete to win individual holes, and the player who wins the most holes wins the match. Match play can be played by two individuals, one on one, and that is known as Singles Match Play, or teams of two players can square off, with Foursomes and Four ball the most common formats for team play. We should know the glossary of golf terms in the Match play before playing the game.

First of all, all square, it means that a match is tied in match play competition. Match play scoring works by keeping track of holes won, rather than by totaling up strokes played. If Golfer A has won two holes more than Golfer B, then A leads B 2-up and B is said to be 2-down to A. But if Golfers A and B have won the same number of holes, they are “all square,” or tied. On leader boards, all square is often abbreviated as “AS.” The specific way of stating “all square” might change depending on context. A match that is “squared up” is all square. Or a match that is “square” is all square.

The second glossary will be the Conceded Putt, which is one your opponent gives you, and you don’t have to hole out the ball. As soon as your opponent tells you he’s conceding your putt, your putt is considered holed. If you were laying three and your putt is conceded, you mark down a “4” on your scorecard and move on. Conceded putts exist in the rules only for match play. Conceded putts are not allowed under the rules in stroke play; in stroke play, you must always putt your ball into the hole. Concede the putt and move on. If the opponent’s ball is two feet from the cup, then the decision whether to concede becomes trickier. Of course, conceded putts are not required; if you want to make your opponent hole out on every green, just don’t offer any concessions. Conceded putts are not something you should request; concessions are solely at the discretion of the opponent. It’s entirely up to you whether your match play opponent gets to pick up his ball without holing out; it’s entirely up to your opponent whether or not to concede your putt. If you concede a putt to your opponent, but he putts the ball anyway and misses, a conceded putt is deemed holed under the rules; any concession ends that golfer’s play of the hole. If he putts anyway and misses it doesn’t count, because his play of that hole ended with the concession.

Next is Dormie, it’s a match play term. In match play, a match is said to reach “dormie” when one of the golfers achieves a lead that matches the number of holes remaining. When a match reaches a state of dormie, there a couple ways the term can be applied: The match will “go dormie” or “has gone dormie”; the match has “reached dormie”; the player who leads has “taken the match dormie.”Dormie is a term that is most commonly heard during team match play competitions such as the Ryder Cup, Presidents Cup…

Read the full article from the Source…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *